PDA

View Full Version : Which one of these 2 GPUs is better



Dlator1987
06.10.2018, 20:12
Which one of these is better in general and specifically for CEMU:

NVidia Quadro K2100M
NVidia GTX 965M

From what I've been able to determine, the K2100M may be slightly faster...maybe 10%...for 2D and the 965M is about 250% faster for 3D. This was according to the passmark site comparison. The K2100M also has 2GB of memory and the 965M has 4GB of memory.

I would think the 965M would be better, especially for things like BOTW.

Thanks!

Dlator1987
09.10.2018, 05:05
Well, I was able to try it out with both cards. The 965m is definitely better. Smoother graphics and usually 20fps while the other can get up to 20fps but drops down many times and seems to jump/stutter while the 965m doesn't. The 965m seems to run cooler as well, for some reason.

FYI, I'm running CEMU on an HP ZBook G2 laptop with an i7-4910mq CPU and 16GB of memory.

The only problem that I have with the 965m is that for some reason it won't display on an external monitor/tv...specifically, the notebook doesn't detect the external monitor. The K2100m did, though. The HP has both an integrated Intel HD 4600 and the BIOS allows to specify that both are active or only the discrete non-integrated graphics 965m is used. When I only have the K2100m active, the external monitor works properly but with the 965m, when I set the BIOS to only have it active, the notebook only shows a black screen. Damn. Trying to see if updating the drivers and/or bios has any effect.

Dlator1987
21.02.2019, 18:34
Update. I've since found several tutorials on improving and configuring graphics packs. I can now get 60fps in most cases. Everything working smoothly. This is with the 965m. I haven't gone back to the K2100m with the same optimizations and I don't plan on doing that.

I have also since updated to a more recent version of cemu, 1.15.1, as before the optimizations, newer versions were not performing as well, and it's working well.

I've determined how to get video and sound through my docking station to an external monitor/tv as well. DVI output was working well, so I'm using a DVI to HDMI converter and using the audio from the 3.5mm output as input to the TV. Luckily, my TV has an input that is used when the HDMI input is from a DVI source where no audio is sent through the HDMI cable, as in my case.